The inaugural Irish DatSci Awards are excited to announce the finalists for the 6 categories ahead of this year’s awards.

With a little over 2 weeks to go until the DatSci Awards, preparations are well underway ahead of unveiling the winners of the 6 categories.

After extensive presentations at the Aviva Stadium last month, anticipation is high for the unveiling of the winners at the DatSci Awards ceremony on the 22nd of September in the Aviva Stadium.

We are delighted to announce the finalists are;


Data Scientist of the Year (Sponsored by Optum, part of the UnitedHealth Group, Title Sponsor)

Dave Sheehan – AIB

Aoife D’Arcy – The Analytics Store

Maciej Dabroswki – Altocloud

Vincent Lonij– IBM

Judged By –

Edward McDonnell – Centre Director, CeADAR – Centre for Applied Data Analytics Research

David Scanlon, ‎Venture Investment Leader, National Digital Research Centre

Sheamus Causer – Chief Country Officer, Deutsche Bank

Simon Cocking – Senior Editor, Irish Tech News


Best Team of the Year for Academic Research (Sponsored by Dun & Bradstreet)

CeADAR – Centre for Applied Data Analytics Research

ICHEC – The Irish Centre for High End Computing 

Insight Galway- Insights Centre for Data Analytics, NUI Galway 

Judged By –

Dr Helen McBreen, Investment Director, Atlantic Bridge

Maciej Wasiak – Founder and Chief Data Scientist, Xpanse Analytics

Simon O’Regan – Product Owner – Zalando SE

Paul O’Grady – Data Scientist/Engineer at  Zalando SE

Best Multinational of the Year Award (Sponsored by Accenture Digital )


Car Trawler

Judged By –

Edward McDonnell – Centre Director, CeADAR Cent
re for Applied Data Analytics Research

Mick Kerrigan – Principal Data Scientist, Independent News and Media

Yvonne Holmes – Head of Customer Analytics & Engagement, AIB

Anthony O’Neill – Director, Analytics Centre of Excellence , Eir

Best Company of the Year : Indigenous Irish 


Core Media


Judged By –

Cronan McNamara, Founder & CEO, Creme Global

Tom Cockrell, Global Head of Decision Analytics, Dropbox

John Carney, Head of Retail Analytics, Bank of Ireland


Best Start-up of the Year (Sponsored by CarTrawler

Connectors Marketplace Ltd

Kinesis Health Technologies 

Orreco Ltd



Judged By –

Dermot Casey – Venture Investment Leader, National Digital Research Centre

Jennifer Cruise – Head of Data, Core Media

Fionnuala Healy – Startup Development Manager, Trinity College

Bronagh Riordan – Head of Data Science, Cartrawler

Julian Perez Alzueta – Senior Manager of Data Science, Core Media


With the ceremony drawing closer, tickets are selling fast. Ensure you have purchased your ticket before it is too late by contacting Roisin at or via Eventbrite.

In an effort to pay it forward, and give back to the Data Science community, all proceeds from the sale of tickets to the DatSci Awards will go towards a Level 9 / MSC in Data Science / Business Analytics.

It is sure to be an event you will not want to miss, so purchase your tickets now to avoid disappointment!